Supersize me! Autumn Stuffed Banana Squash

This is one large meal where there is no guilt in supersize portions.  And it’s not primarily made of corn, unlike some *other* supersized options out there.

I’ve been dreaming of stuffed squash for the last month.  So colorful.  So flavorful.  So fun!  And with these wholesome ingredients you can’t go wrong. When we found this beauty at the farmers market, I knew the time had come.

Chopping this super size squash in half provided great entertainment for the kids, a task that proves challenging for me every time, apparently it is a talent I just may never master.  Thankfully squash is forgiving.

Autumn Stuffed Banana Squash

1 Banana Squash (or a few smaller squash of your choice), halved, seeded, and ends chopped
3-4 Tbl olive oil
3 c. cooked quinoa (I cooked mine in veggie broth)
juice of 1 lemon (add a little zest for extra flavor)
2 apples, cored and chopped
3 stalks celery, diced
1 onion, diced
1 c. pecans (thinking of toasting these in the skillet for a few minutes next time so they maintain more crispiness)
1 c. raisins
Sage, 1 Tbl. fresh or 1 tsp. dried
sea salt and pepper to taste
optional veggie cheese of choice to sprinkle on right before serving

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Rub 1-2 Tbl olive oil onto flesh of halved squash.  Rub in salt and pepper (to taste).  Lay flesh down on baking sheet and bake for 45 minutes (30 for smaller squash.)

While it bakes, add 2 Tbl. olive oil, onion and celery to skillet.  Cook until softened and shimmery.  Add sea salt and pepper to taste.  In a large bowl toss apple with lemon juice.  Add quinoa, pecans, raisins, sage and sauteed celery and onions.

Pull the squash out of the oven, flip over and fill with quinoa stuffing.  Cover with foil and bake for another 30-45 minutes, or until flesh is soft in the center.

19 thoughts on “Supersize me! Autumn Stuffed Banana Squash

  1. This looks delicious! I’m endlessly surprised by how many different types of squash there are; it seems you can only get butternut here.

  2. Holy moly! That is truly a wonderful sight to behold.

    I love those stuffing ingredients. I’d like to give this a try, but maybe with something a little less unwieldy, like acorn squash! 🙂

      • You bet! It will have to wait, though – the next squash on my agenda is the huge butternut lurking in my cupboard. 🙂 I love fall!

  3. Pingback: Meatless Monday: Stuffed Banana Squash « Center For Living Peace

Leave a comment